Chandra Shiv Temple - Sonamukhi

Chandra Shiv Temple – Sonamukhi

Sometimes it pays to get a little lost, as I did while exploring the narrow lanes of Sonamukhi in West Bengal. This temple was not on my itinerary of structures to explore, I just came upon it as I tried to remember where I had left the car :-).

The majority of the temples around the town were erected by prosperous cloth merchants and skilled weavers who settled here centuries ago. While a few of these temples remain steadfast in the town center, regrettably, many have succumbed to ruin or collapse over the years, a victim of prolonged neglect.

The Chandra Shiv temple lies somewhere in-between, it is clearly still in use and cared for to a degree, but the state of preservation is far from ideal, with much of the terracotta ornamentation now obscured or completely lost. The temple is a tightly ridged rekha, typical of the Birbhum-Burdwan types that can be seen in the region.

My research to try and glean any more information regarding this structure has resulted in nothing. No other documentation for it seems to exist, and sadly no old images that can show how this temple would have looked in its prime. As for dating the structure, with no foundation stone I can only place it somewhere around the mid 19th century.

This means it is broadly contemporary with the nearby Sridhar Temple, which is far better preserved and more richly decorated.



Please ‘Like’ or add a comment if you enjoyed this blog post. If you’d like to be notified of any new content, just sign up by clicking the ‘Follow’ button. If you have enjoyed this or any other of my posts, please consider buying me a coffee. There’s a facility to do so on the righthand side of this website for desktop users, and just above the comment section for mobile users. Thank you !

If you’re interested in using any of my photography or articles please get in touch. I’m also available for any freelance work worldwide, my duffel bag is always packed ready to go…

KevinStandage1@gmail.com
kevinstandagephotography.wordpress.com

1 reply »

Leave a comment