India

Ranighati

Ranighati Fort

On a day trip out of Gwalior heading to Narwar Fort I came across what seemed to be an interesting location pretty much in the middle of nowhere. The route I had taken out of Gwalior was on the AH47 heading south-west, just prior to it becoming National Highway 46 at Mohana I turned left and headed cross-country on reasonable roads until I reached a cluster of buildings and temples alongside a whitewashed fort. I was compelled to stop and explore a little more.

At first the entire place appeared to be completely deserted, but before long a small group of people, including a priest, came out of the fort to greet me. I’m guessing it’s rather unusual to have foreign visitors passing through, and they seemed very happy for me to wonder about before inviting me into the fort for some tea.

Tea is being brewed inside the fort…

The fort appeared to be almost completely abandoned, and deceptively large. I was given a quick tour of some of the rooms, including a former kitchen with an oven set into the floor

We then scaled a series of precarious stairs to take in the views from the top of the fort walls. From here you could get a decent view of the structures directly opposite on the other side of the road. Thanks to google maps I now know that there’s a Shiv temple there, and what appeared to be another fort complex in a very ruinous state, perhaps a fort that pre-dates the one I was exploring.

The focal point within the fort was the Ram Janki Temple, very much still in use and very well maintained. It’s times like this that I can become quite frustrated around the language barrier, my Hindi is almost non-existent and I so wanted to learn more about the place and the history of the fort and associated buildings. What I could glean from what was quite a difficult exchange of questions and answers leaves me not knowing much at all, and sadly there’s very little I have managed to add from subsequent google searches.

The head priest’s name I believe to be Raj Kumer Das Mahent, I think he lives in the fort along with a Sadhu, who was happy to be photographed after I had asked permission to do so.

Raj Kumer Das Mahent (I think!)
Sadhu

From what I could decipher from our attempts to communicate, Ranighati was the birthplace of Raja Nala from the Mahabharata. He was the son of Veerasena , and who ruled over a kingdom known as Nishadha which is identified with the current day district of Gwalior in Madhya Pradesh. His appearance in the Mahabharata appears to be focused mainly on his marriage to princess Damayanti, but is also known for his skill with horses and for his culinary expertise.

Raja Nala’s capital from the Sanskrit epic Mahabharata was called Nalapura until the 12th century, which is believed to be present day Narwar (the place I was en-route to).

This is as far as my fact-finding has taken me regarding Ranighati. I would welcome any of my readers who may have more information to please add them to the comments below this post. I know nothing about the history of the fort itself, and despite some quite concerted efforts going through old ASI publications from the 19th century, this place does not appear to get any mentions.

Having taken some tea and making a donation to the temple, it was time to head on to Narwar Fort. On the way out my new friends were keen to show me some ancient looking shields that were hung on the wall, which apparently were made from rhinoceros skin.

Rhinoceros hasn’t roamed Madhya Pradesh for a very long time, but I don’t know exactly when they became extinct in the region.

Although my stop at Ranighati was less than an hour, the memory of that place has more clarity than almost anywhere else I visited during my last six weeks in India. Although I would dearly like to know more about Ranighati, it’s the utter randomness of the experience coupled with the incredibly friendly people that probably contributes to the experience being so well retained. It’s moments like this that make India such a compelling place to visit.

For those interested to know exactly where Ranighati is between Gwalior and Narwar, the embedded google map below should help you find it.


Please ‘Like’ or add a comment if you enjoyed this blog post. If you’d like to be notified of any new content, just sign up by clicking the ‘Follow’ button. If you have enjoyed this or any other of my posts, please consider buying me a coffee. There’s a facility to do so on the righthand side of this website for desktop users, and just above the comment section for mobile users. Thank you !

If you’re interested in using any of my photography or articles please get in touch. I’m also available for any freelance work worldwide, my duffel bag is always packed ready to go…

KevinStandage1@gmail.com
kevinstandagephotography.wordpress.com

Categories: India, Madhya Pradesh, Ranighati

Tagged as:

11 replies »

  1. Hi, This is Pawan Singh Baish (Rajput) From Narwar

    I’m so glad to see that you visited Ranighati too. I’m totally surprised to see that someone written about Ranighati’s description for the first time. I’m continue on your blog … Great to see that neglected historical places explored by you.

    Salute to you.

    Lots of thanks.
    🙏🙏

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Pawan, receiving comments like yours I get great encouragement from. As an archaeologist, I find these hidden away and less-known places far more interesting than the super popular tourist locations. Thanks for your comment and for stopping by my blog !

      Liked by 1 person

  2. और मुझे यह बताते हुए बेहद खुशी हो रही है कि Google Map पर Ranighati की जो Location दर्शायी गयी है, वह मेरे द्वारा जोड़ी गयी थी। इससे पहले यह स्थान गुमनाम था।

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t know about the history of ranighati fort but I visited Ram janki temple very often because of my work job as civil engineer assigned for chitoli ranighati road….such a peaceful place to visit

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment